The Influence Of Media – A blog for CPCF 1F25

Media today has a huge significance on my worldview as well as society as a whole.  On a day-to-day basis, each person is affected or influenced by the media one way or another. Whether it’s by playing a video game, hearing a new outrageous story about a celebrity or reading through US weekly’s new magazine, media is regularly intertwined into our lives.

Although media affects society both positively and negatively, I mainly think media portrays a negative effect, specifically on young girls. Personally, as a female teenager, I notice it’s hard escaping the pressures of the media. Between stick thin models and perfect looking celebrities in almost every magazine and movie, it’s easy to understand why many young tweens and teenagers want to resemble what they are seeing in the media. The more losing weight and showing skin is portrayed the more young girls feel they should live up to this expectation.

Personally, when I was younger I always looked up to older people or celebrities as role models just like young girls do today. Throughout the years of growing up, media has expanded in how they pursue themselves and now I see tweens act significantly different than how they acted when I was 12 or 13. Now when you see young girls in society, many at the age of 12 or younger who are wearing makeup, clothes that are revealing and are even more technologically advanced (ie. Using cell phones, having access to Internet). This is because of their desire to be just like celebrities they see on TV or in other types of media.

The way young girls see themselves is vastly changing due to how critical the media, and therefore, society has become. When people are faced with media influencing how people should look, people become harsh to what they see in reality, which also affects how teenagers, specifically girls, see themselves. Personally, I can relate to this as one of my friends in high school dealt with anorexia.

Between the pressure of media and her own personal thoughts she began to restrict herself from eating in grade 12.  She slowly began to just eat the bare minimum and would go to the gym for up to 3 hours a day, at least 4 times a week. Seeing how negatively the media affected her was concerning as I’m sure she’s not the only one that went through that hardship.

Along with society and the people around me, media has also made a huge significance in my life. Although it hasn’t affected me negatively, I find myself always listening to media stories or reading about celebrities presented in the media. Along with interests in other people, I also am influenced by the media on what to wear. I like to look at the latest trends and styles for my own personal benefit.

Altogether, media affects society and myself significantly on a day-to-day basis.

2 thoughts on “The Influence Of Media – A blog for CPCF 1F25

  1. Pingback: 1F25 Post 2: Media Impact Response | torigligic

  2. Pingback: 1f25 blog response 1: Media Impact on Others | brockbadger

Leave a comment